Hyundai Elantra N Awarded 2023 AJAC Best Sports Performance Car


Hyundai Elantra N

The Hyundai Elantra N has been named the 2023 Automobile Journalist Association of Canada (AJAC) Best Sports Performance Car. The combination of its 2.0 litre turbocharged 4 cylinder engine, with 276 hp and 289 lb-ft of torque, and its quick shifting 6 speed manual transmission with rev-matching, add to this performance sedan’s appeal. An 8-speed Wet Dual Clutch Transmission (N DCT) with paddle shifters is also available as a $1,600 option.

“AJAC journalist’s submitted more than 1,700 ballots based on real-world test drives and produced this list of winners presented today in collaboration with the Montreal International Auto Show”, said Michel Crépault, AJAC president. “In producing these results, our journalist members demonstrated fierce dedication to their craft, information Canadian drivers of the vehicles worthy of their purchase consideration in 2023.”

Hyundai Elantra N

The Elantra N sounds like a performance sedan too. It is equipped with an active variable sports exhaust which emits all the right pops and bangs from its two large exhausts. The 19 inch wheels are fitted with sticky 245/35 ZR19 Michelin Pilot Sport 4S high-performance summer tires. Acceleration from 0-100 km/h occurs in the mid 5 seconds, with the N DCT getting there quicker than the manual.

Hyundai Elantra N

Hyundai loves taking their N cars to the track too. They are returning for another season of competition in the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge. They have been so successful in this series that they are trying for a fourth consecutive manufacturers titles. Bryan Herta Autosport and Deily Motorsports will be fielding five Elantra N TCR race cars. Canadian drivers Robert Wickens from Guelph, Ontario and Mark Wilkins from Toronto, Ontario are part of the six driver lineup. The other drivers are Michael Lewis from Laguna Beach, California, Harry Gottsacker from Alamo Heights, Texas, Mason Filippi from Alamo, California and Taylor Hagler from Bulverde, Texas.

Reigning IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge champions Taylor Hagler and Michael Lewis will return in the No. 1 Elantra N TCR.

“We are all excited for the start of the 2023 Michelin Pilot Challenge season in Daytona, for this season we have familiar faces behind the wheel but the driving combinations will look a little different,” said Bryan Herta, president, Bryan Herta Autosport. “We continue to evolve and push our program as the level of competition from Honda, Audi, and Alfa Romeo grows each season. I can’t wait to see how our new driver pairings and the proven Elantra N TCR car stack up against this season’s competition.”

The No. 33 Hyundai Elantra N TCR will be driven by Robert Wickens and Harry Gottsacker. The car is fitted with a custom hand-control system. It allows Robert Wickens to accelerate and brake via controls on the steering wheel. When Harry Gottsacker is driving the car he is able to use the foot pedals. Robert Wickens injured his spinal cord in an IndyCar crash at Pocono Raceway in August 2018.

Hyundai Elantra N

2023 IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge Series Schedule

  1. BMW M Endurance Challenge At Daytona, Jan 26-29, 2023 Duration: 4 Hours
  2. Alan Jay Automotive Network 129 At Sebring, March 15-18, 2023 Duration: 2 Hours
  3. WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca 120, May 12-14, 2023 Duration: 2 Hours
  4. Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix Presented By Lear, June 2-3, 2023 Duration: 2 Hours
  5. Tioga Downs Casino Resort 120, June 22-25, 2023 Duration: 2 Hours
  6. Canadian Tire Motorsport Park 120, July 7-9, 2023 Duration: 2 Hours
  7. Lime Rock Park 120, July 21-22, 2023 Duration: 2 Hours
  8. Road America 120, August 3-6, 2023 Duration: 2 Hours
  9. Virginia is for Racing Lovers Grand Prix, August 25-27, 2023 Duration: 2 Hours
  10. IMSA Battle on the Bricks, September 15-17, 2023 Duration: 4 Hours
  11. Fox Factory 120, October 11-14, 2023 Duration: 2 Hours
Hyundai Elantra N

Photography and videos by Hyundai

Leave a comment